Skip to content

Notes from Walnut Tree Farm

Roger Deakin
Barcode 9780141039022
Book

Sold out
Original price £8.14 - Original price £8.14
Original price
£8.14
£8.14 - £8.14
Current price £8.14

Click here to join our rewards scheme and earn points on this purchase!

Availability:
Out of stock

Release Date: 25/06/2009

Genre: Home Garden & Pets
Sub-Genre: Biography
Label: Penguin Books Ltd
Contributors: Alison Hastie (Edited by), Terence Blacker (Edited by)
Language: English
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd

For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakin kept notebooks in which he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his home, Walnut Tree Farm. This title collects his writings, capturing his restless curiosity about nature and his impressions of our changing world.

Calming, thought-provoking, poetic and honest, Notes from Walnut Tree Farm is a collection of writing and musing by documentary-maker, environmentalist and author of Waterlog, Roger Deakin.

'Gentle, straight, honest, inquisitive, funny, melancholic' Spectator

'A lovely book that is a poignant epitaph to a remarkable individual' Amazon Review
________________

For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakinkept notebooks. In them, he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his Suffolk home, Walnut Tree Farm. Collected here are the very best of these writings, capturing his extraordinary, restless curiosity about nature as well as his impressions of our changing world.

Perfect for fans of Robert Macfarlane and Colin Tudge, this is a book that fills readers with a desire to explore the world around them.
________________

'A secular saint' The Times

'Marvellous, wonderful, lovely, remarkable . to be read and reread and treasured' Elizabeth Jane Howard, Daily Mail

'Very funny, sharp-eyed. To look at the world through Deakin's eyes was to see somewhere that was more wonderful than it often appears' Sunday Telegraph

'Thoughtful and invigorating, full of humour, timeless . will take its place among the classics of Nature diaries . to be read alongside Frances Kilvert, Gilbert White, and Dorothy Wordsworth' Mail on Sunday


'So busy and bustling with life'
Observer