Skip to content

Bruckner: Symphony No.8; Messiaen: Couleurs de la Cité Céleste

Barcode 0822231304296

Original price $20.99 - Original price $20.99
Original price
$20.99 - $20.99
Current price $20.99

Click here to join our rewards scheme and earn points on this purchase!

in stock

Release Date: 25/05/2018

Genre: DVD & Blu-ray
Region Code: Blu-ray A
Certificate: FSK 0
Actors: Sir Simon Rattle
Director: Sir Simon Rattle
Number of Discs: 2
Audio Languages: English

Sir Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra are joined by revered French pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard in a concert film that brings together music by Anton Bruckner and Olivier Messiaen: two composers as united in their devotion to the Catholic faith as they are divergent in their approaches to writing music. The program begins with Bruckner's monumental Symphony No.8, with Rattle leading the LSO through its 1939 edition, prepared by the Austrian musicologist Robert Haas. The composer's last complete symphony, it has since become characterized by its explosive, dramatic nature and immense scale. Taking Bruckner over five years to compose and revise, it would only be performed three times whilst he was alive. In stark contrast to the magnitude of Bruckner's eighth, Messiaen's Couleurs de la Cité Céleste lasts just over quarter of an hour. The 20th century work comprises sequences of short episodes and serves as a microcosm of the composer's various preoccupations, from birdsong to the book of Revelations. Centered on the piano and performed by a reduced orchestra, Aimard takes to the stage, offering an expert rendition of Messiaen's often overlooked work.