Skip to content

Filigree & Shadow

This Mortal Coil
Barcode 0652637300512

Original price £30.44 - Original price £30.44
Original price
£30.44 - £30.44
Current price £30.44

Click here to join our rewards scheme and earn points on this purchase!

in stock
FREE shipping

Release Date: 07/12/2018

Edition: 12" Remastered Album
Genre: Rock/Pop
Sub-Genre: Indie/Alternative
Label: 4AD
Number of Discs: 2
Duration: 74.10 minutes

This Mortal Coil was not a band, but a unique collaboration of musicians recording in various permutations, the brainchild of 4AD kingpin Ivo Watts-Russell. Named after a song by the '60s band Fever Tree, 'Filigree & Shadow' was intended from the start as a double album. As before, he drew on a large pool of musicians - Simon Raymonde made important contributions, as did members of Colourbox, Dif Juz and The Wolfgang Press - but this time the bulk of the vocalists came from outside 4AD's orbit. The selection of cover versions included material by Tim Buckley, Gene Clark, Tom Rapp, Judy Collins and Colin Newman. 'Filigree & Shadow' was originally released in September 1986.

Track Listing:
1: Velvet Belly
2: The Jeweller
3: Ivy and Neet
4: Meniscus
5: Tears
6: Tarantula
7: My Father
8: Come Here My Love
9: At First and Then
10: Strength of Strings
11: Morning Glory
12: Inch Blue
13: I Want to Live
14: Mama K(1)
15: Filigree & Shadow
16: Firebrothers
17: Thais (1)
18: I Must Have Been Blind
19: A Heart of Glass
20: Alone
21: Mama K(2)
22: The Horizon Bleeds and Sucks It's Thumb
23: Drugs
24: Red Rain
25: Thais (2)