Skip to content

Laugh Track

`National, The`
Barcode 0191400067929

Original price $15.99 - Original price $15.99
Original price
$15.99 - $15.99
Current price $15.99

Click here to join our rewards scheme and earn points on this purchase!

in stock

Release Date: 17/11/2023

Edition: Album
Genre: Rock/Pop
Sub-Genre: Indie/Alternative
Label: 4AD
Number of Discs: 1

The surprise companion to The National's April release 'First Two Pages of Frankenstein', 'Laugh Track' is the band's most freewheeling, all-hands-on-deck album in years. If 'Frankenstein' represented a rebuilding of trust between group members after 20+ years together, the vibrant, exploratory 'Laugh Track' is both the product of that faith and a new statement of intent. Reveling in the license to radically upend its creative process, The National honed most of this material in live performances on tour, and captured those invigorated versions in impromptu sessions at producer Tucker Martine's Portland studio. Two nights later in Vancouver, the nearly eight-minute album closer 'Smoke Detector' was recorded during soundcheck, completing a body of work bristling with spontaneity and vintage rock energy that makes a perfect complement to the songs found on its more introspective predecessor.

Track Listing:
1-1 Alphabet City
1-2 Deep End (Paul's in Pieces)
1-3 Weird Goodbyes (Feat. Bon Iver)
1-4 Turn Off the House
1-5 Dreaming
1-6 Laugh Track (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
1-7 Space Invader
1-8 Hornets
1-9 Coat On a Hook
1-10 Tour Manager
1-11 Crumble (Feat. Rosanne Cash)
1-12 Smoke Detector